Food $ense Groceries

If you eat, you qualify.

This program is a food buying opportunity that provides quality food for less than retail prices through the Food Bank of Central New York.  Food $ense is designed to increase self-sufficiency by helping people stretch their food dollars. The Food Bank is able to purchase food items in large quantities at discounted prices, and this savings is passed on to the program’s customers.
The Food Bank operates this service with 36 sites in a 14 county area.  It works like a buying club with volume purchases, so there are no income requirements or questions.  Since it is not a subsidized program, everyone may participate.  This program has been very successful in many locations around central New York.  The Foothills Rural Community Ministry has been running a Food $ense program since November 2008. 
 
  • Each package costs $20.50, payable in cash or food stamps.  Food packages contain 12-15 items including meat, fruits, vegetables, and grocery staples, with a value of over $30. The specific items in each month’s package will be published when they are available. 
  • There are no income restrictions; anyone wishing to stretch their food dollars can participate. 
  • Participants pre-pay with cash or EBT card, and they pick up their Food $ense packages near the end of the month.
  • There are also monthly specials available each month in addition to or instead of the basic package. 
  • Families may order multiple packages.  Each month, customers choose whether or not they want to order.  There is no need to purchase every month. 
  • Pick up is on Friday afternoons and Saturday mornings.  If customers cannot make the pickup times they can give their receipts to someone else to pick up for them. 
  • If an emergency arises, please call and we will try to make other arrangements for your pickup.  865-5854 and leave a message.
  • Food that is not picked up will be donated to the Foothills Food Pantry.

 

We are in need of volunteers to help distribute the food boxes on the Friday pick up days 11:00-2:00.

For more information leave a message at the Foothills office 315-865-5854 or email us at frcmin@gmail.com

or  click here to learn more at the

Food Bank of Central NY website.

 

g .                                                            

 

Orders will be taken

the first Saturday of every month 

 9:00-1:00 

and on the pick-up days.

Last day for this order is

Saturday March 2.

 

March pickup will be on

Friday,March 29

from 12:30 to 2:00

and Saturday, March 30

from 10:00 to noon.



 
Projected List for March $20.50

- Chicken Tenderloins, 1.5 lbs. (avg.)

- Tilapia Fillets, 1 lb.

- Ham Steaks, 1 lb.

- Salisbury Steaks, 12 oz.

- Ground Turkey, 1 lb.

- Shoe String French Fries, 20 oz.

- White Rice, 1 lb.

- Shrimp Florentine, 24 oz.

- Frozen Brussel Sprouts, 1 lb.

- Frozen Blackberries, 1 lb.

- Fresh Produce

- Fresh Produce

Specials are sold separately:

The specials for March are:

Spiral Ham: 9 lbs. (avg.) for $13.50 - The ham is an all natural honey spiral ham and averages 9 lbs. per special.
Breaded Chicken Nuggets: 5 lbs. for $7.75 - The chicken nuggets are fully-cooked and can be reheated in the oven or microwave oven.
Italian Meatballs: 5 lbs. for $9.25 - The Italian meatballs are fully cooked and are in a 5 lbs. bag.
Stuffed Pork Chops: 2 lbs. for $7.00 - The pork chops have stuffing

 with apples and cranberries.
Protein Box: $15.00 - The Protein Box includes Pork Tenderloin 1.7 lbs. (avg.), boneless chicken breast 3 lbs., breaded fish sticks 1 lb., ground beef 1 lb., and deli-sliced turkey 8 oz.
Mozzarella Sticks: 2 lbs. for $6.25 - The mozzarella sticks are par-cooked and ready for the oven.
Stuffed Shells: 3 lbs. for $5.75 - The stuffed shells are hand stuffed with a ricotta cheese filling.



2018 Pick Up Schedule

Friday  12:30 to 2:00,

Saturday  10-noon


 

January:

                Order:  Saturday, Jan. 5

      EBT deducted Sun. Jan. 13

                Pick up: Friday, Jan. 25

                                Saturday, Jan. 26

February:

      Order: Saturday, Feb. 2 

                EBT deducted Sun. Feb. 10

                Pick up: Friday, Feb 22

                                Saturday, Feb 23

March:

                Order: Saturday, Mar. 2

       EBT deducted Sun. Mar. 17

                Pick up: Friday, Mar. 29

                                Saturday, Mar. 30

April:

                Order: Saturday, Apr. 6

                EBT deducted Sun. Apr. 14

                Pick up: Friday, Apr. 26

                                Saturday, Apr. 27

May:

                Order: Saturday, May 4

                EBT deducted Sun. May 12

                Pick up: Friday, May 24

                                Saturday, May 25

June:

                Order: Saturday, June 1

                EBT deducted Sun. June 9 

                Pick up: Friday, June 21

                                
                             Saturday, June 22 

 

 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ĉ
Bonnie Churcher,
Sep 16, 2012, 7:00 PM
ĉ
Bonnie Churcher,
Sep 16, 2012, 7:01 PM
ĉ
Bonnie Churcher,
Sep 16, 2012, 7:01 PM
Comments